The 2022 Sustainability Awards shortlist has been announced


Now in its 16th year, the 2022 Sustainability Awards are now bigger than ever.

The past 24 months of man-made and natural disasters have provided a direct look into the future of humanity for the next decade at least, and as such have positioned us as a powerful force for change.

It’s no surprise, then, that the 2022 Sustainability Awards received so many entries this year.

For the second year in a row, the shortlist was chosen via our live judging day – which was also proudly supported by Autex, who together with our event and IT teams went far beyond the call of duty to make sure the day goes off without a hitch.

And who could forget our incredible judges of the day – from Chief Justice Dick Clarke to the main jury of Sandra Furtado, Suzanne Toumbourou, Kate Nason, David Coates, Jeremy Spencer, Simone Schenkel, Arianna Brambilla, Mike Faine and of course, Mahalath Halperin , Oliver Reed being absent in the Andes!

This year the judging panel found the entrants to be a little easier to discern, although that said, one of the judges noted that this year some of the comparisons between the entries were like “Comparing apples to elephants “.

This of course alludes to the fact that few entries could actually prove any of their rating memberships, a situation that will not occur in the next few years with some of the changes we are about to implement.

As another of our judges put it, “this day is about the marriage of science and design” and as the recipients of Australia’s largest and oldest built environment adequacy awards, it it is our responsibility to realize the natural evolution of our pricing program.

That said, the quality of winners is something we’ve seen improve year on year, and something that bodes very well for the upcoming awards gala night on 10th November in Sydney, and will once again confirm plus the Architecture & Design Sustainability Awards. as the paragon of Australia’s national sustainability awards.

In fact, looking at the shortlist, one can only feel that the sense of anticipation has risen somewhat for the gala evening and the announcement of the winners on November 10.

Registration for the gala dinner is now open. We invite you to complete your free registration for the awards night or purchase your full-day ticket to experience both the Gala and the 2021 Sustainability Summit.

But in the meantime, here is the 2022 shortlist, in no particular order but by alphabetical category:

Adaptive reuse

(Change / Add)

Sponsored by WoodSolutions

Sue Hutton’s Stephensons Mill The architecture of Hector Abraham

Austin House Evissa Pty Ltd

Emily Taylor and the Warders Hotel Matthew Crawford Architects

Downtown Katsalidis fender

Commercial architecture (large)

Sponsored by Network Architectural

Tour of the docks district AMP Capital

Downtown Katsalidis fender

Kunama townhouses brother nature

Foam Craft Brewery edge4design

631 Springvale Road, Mulgrave Properties in Salta

Commercial architecture (small)

Sponsored by Big Ass Fans

Sarah and Sebastian Russell and George

ANZ Breathe To breathe

Mona Vale Surf Life Saving Club Warren and Mahoney

Education & Research

Sponsored by Timberlink

Cannon Hill Anglican College Block D Reddog Architects

seed – a new collapsible classroom architecture betti&knut

SVSS – Double Flow Building dentex

Port Melbourne Secondary College Leece Billiard Partnership

6 rue Hasall RTW Communications

Building Q EJE Architecture

Emerging Sustainable Architect / Designer

Sponsored by Kaolin

Kim Nguyen Integral Group

Marni Reti Kaunitz-Yeung Architecture

Ali Galbraith To breathe

Green building material and/or product

Sponsored by Forest One

ClinkaCRETE for Cygnet House Basic Collective Architects

SR2 – Systems Reef BVN


Yuludarla Water Collection Milliken

Interior design

Department of Transport, Victoria peckvonhartel

Built/Substation No. 164 fjmtstudio

50s/50s house Green Sheep Collective

Finesse Shoe Store studio edward

swing house studio ssd

Urban landscape

Sponsored by Holcim

Green by the river Hassel

Residences Pavilions by Mirvac Mirvac

Collins Arch and Market Street Park OCULU

Multi-residential dwelling

Sponsored by Electrolux

terrace house Austin Maynard Architects

Nightingale Ballarat To breathe

Angaston Hill Taylor Buchtmann Architecture

Public buildings

Sponsored by Siniat

Eden Port Visitor Center Architecture Cox

Glenroy Community Hub Design Inc Melbourne

Arts + Aquatic Bay Pavilions NBRS

Single-family dwelling (modification)

Sponsored by Bondor

Passive House Pepper Tree Alexander Symes Architect

Eades House Fred Architecture

Phoenix House Harley Graham Architects

Single-family dwelling (new)

Sponsored by Stormtech

Passive house Hütt 01 Melbourne Design Studios (MDS)

Waterfall House Basic Collective Architects

House Ballina 6848 BluKube architecture

Thistle Hill Lighthouse Architecture and Science

Clever building ideas

Sponsored by Verosol

Gabriella’s house BluKube architecture

The Philip Green houses Australia

Southbank Home smart bates

Best of the best

Sponsored by Autex

The winner will be announced at the 2022 Sustainability Awards Gala, November 10, Shangri-la Hotel Sydney

Life Achievement Award

Sponsored by BlueScope

The winner will be announced at the 2022 Sustainability Awards Gala, November 10, Shangri-la Hotel Sydney

Editor’s Choice (Social and Community Results)

Sponsored by Sika

The winner will be announced at the 2022 Sustainability Awards Gala, November 10, Shangri-la Hotel Sydney

Now we just have to announce the winners on November 10th.

For registrations for the gala dinner, go here.

Source link


Comments are closed.